diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Car, pizza, and lesson
June 20, 2009 - 1:13 pm

So... it is indeed a bad compressor. I went to the dealership today to get the 'official' verdict. The cost there is $700 to fix... so I'm in a bit of a quandary.

To fix, or not to fix? That is, indeed, the question.

I don't relish the idea of having a car payment, but I'll be quite upset if I fix it and something else major breaks in the next year. The guy said everything else really looks to be in good shape, so, in a way, that seals it. I had told the dealership guy that if there were other things wrong with it, I'd not fix it. I can then feel reasonably sure his opinion that it's good is well... a good opinion. He could have easily steered me towards saying it's not so issues -- after all, I do have some 110,000 miles on it.

I guess I'll call him Monday and see about setting something up for next weekend.

As I was getting my car looked at... my mind went to wandering. On of the things I pondered is what to get for lunch and just how lucky I am to be in a melting-pot type country. I mean, I can really eat just about anything.

If, for example, I were in some other place like Germany... my choices would be so much more limited. Take something pretty common here like pizza as an example. Now, I'm sure Germans have some sort of version of pizza, but I doubt it's really 'pizza'.

I mean, what would they use for cheese? Germans just aren't known for cheese. I bet they go with something that would sort of kind of look like cheese, but be wholly Germanic like sauerkraut. Instead of pepperoni/sausage, the perfectly interesting replacement of bratwurst would do well and even compliment the kraut. As for a sauce.. we'll, I'm at a loss. Other toppings? Hops? Barely? No doubt quite common.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying that'd be terrible eat or anything... but it's just not proper pizza.

In other news, I'm learning the lesson that sometimes the hardest thing to do is to do nothing. I mean when you know what you'd like to do, but it's really not just up to you...

As much as you'd like to say something or do something, you know it's just not right for some reason. I really can't say way... in fact, perhaps, given how troubling it can be for me to understand these sorts of things.. perhaps my intuition is wrong and I should do something.

The thing of it is... is I tried that already and so I'm choosing to learn from that and do nothing. As much as I'd like to do something.

I babble. All part of my charm I suppose.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars