diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Bad 24 hours
June 22, 2009 - 6:03 pm

The last 24 hours have, more or less (and most more) sucked.

What's gone wrong you ask?

Exhibit A:
While cleaning yesterday, I tweaked my back. At first, I thought no big deal.. but worse and worse it got. Worse to the point that I ended up laying on the floor to watch US beat Egypt (which was most excellent)... but then I realized, I'm not at all sure how I'm going to get up.

Upon sorting that out, I did some laundry. At which time things got worse with the washer making decidedly unwasherly noises while spinning. A faint smell of something burning confirmed that it's sick. Now, keep in mind, I'm damn sure it's the original washer from when this place was built -- which is to say it rivals me in age.

Still... I was faced with a pretty pissed off back, a washer not really fit for washing and a looming choice on AC vs new car.

Lucky for me, I thought to measure the current washer to see just how big it was.. whereupon I realized there's a real space limit to the nook it sits in. There's more than enough space for any top loader model -- those all seem to be about the same depth. The problem is with the new, fancy front loaders. These are markedly deep and therefore problematic.

The debate ensued -- get a nice, eco friendly front loader or a traditional top loader?

Mix in that if I was to get it delivered on Wed (like I decided I wanted) I had to decide which model to get last night and buy it today. This is unheard of speed for me to make such a choice. Unheard of.

After much site reading... and after realizing that size limit which knocked out all my first choices. I realized that each retailer I looked at only had one front loader that fit my criteria.

Choice suddenly became much, much easier.

One place is having a sale.. and so, there's the winner. Freaking marvelous to find an unchangeable factor to reduce my never ending quest to read and re-read reviews.

I've also noticed that there is a very high correlation between people who type 10x worse that I do here and buying a 'lemon' of a washer.

I spent all of 10 minutes in the store and even entertained the lady's offer to try and talk me into the next size larger. She seemed to think one inch of room at the back would be plenty for hoses and such. I'm nervous about the 2.75" that I'll have with this small model.

I marvel at my ability to drop large amounts of cash in such a short time.

I also made the call schedule my car's appointment... the washer going really seals the deal as far as just fixing it.

At least my back is starting to feel better. The freakin' chairs at work -- even though they are new and all ergonomic -- suck.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars