diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Atlanta
October 25, 2008 - 9:14 pm

Snippets from the last three days in Atlanta:

Overheard on a plane:

"You should really call my tax guy.

I don't know, I don't like those guys.

No, listen to this. His motto is: everyone has a duty to pay taxes, but everyone also has a duty to pay as little in taxes as possible. See, this is a guy you can work with."

This... strikes me as a fundamental flaw in people. We all want the benefit provided, but don't want to help foot the bill.. so we look for loopholes. Loopholes are why taxes are what they are... take those out, and the rates would all be lower.

In a restaurant:

"... So yeah, I bought this 5,000 square foot house and let her stay with me. You know the sort... jacuzzi, tennis courts... golf course.. right? Anyway, she was crazy. Let me tell you about this...."

I lost the conversation for a bit.

"Oh, your right, she was crazy. You should have been angry.

I was. LIke screaming. Here's my girlfriend kissing this guy... they had to call the cops.

I don't blame you at all.

So I drove home in my new Lexus. Yeah, the new year one..."

Anyway.. so this guy was totally hitting on this gal who he was having dinner with. Taking all the chances he could to drop the size of the house.. car.. and such. She was totally eating it up. He was pretty.. uhm... non-slick. I even caught the bar tender looking at this guy and shaking hs head. How's that for bad?

Eh.. I had more... Some decent ones from the hell that was Atlanta on Friday.

Let me tell you that:

I'm on the 6:10 flight. It's raining, so I leave early... and get to the airport around 1. I get standby on the 4:00 flight... the next soonest. I'm far from first in line.

It get delayed from 4 to 4:30.. to 5... to 5:30. It boards at 6:00.

I don't make standby. I use my wireless card n laptop to check the status of my 6:10 flight.

It goes from on time to canceled -- no delay at all.

I get in the line to see the ticket lady.. like number 6. Most folks don't realize it's cancled yet.. no announcement.

I call our travel folks... I get a new flight as I'm in line. The 8:10. Around 7 I make it to the counter gal and get my new boarding pass. All is good.

At 7:30 another flight comes to our gate.. and starts to board. This means my 8:10 can not be on time. This means I can not make my connection to get home. I fear being royally fucked.

The line is short.. I see the lady quickly. I joke with her.. why not? She moves me to a direct flight on a different airline. I need to move terminals... but it's a 9:30 flight, so lots of time to get to the new terminal.

Do you know Atlanta? Had to go from E to B.

I finally got home at 11:57... like 2 hours late.. to my condo at like 1am. So very tired...

Loca only bit me once. No so bad.... not so bad.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars