diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


What is a self-starter?
October 28, 2008 - 6:07 pm

My young friend came to visit me at work again... seeking advice. I'm sure I've talked about her and her troubles finding a new job before.

Today she handed me a posting and said what do you think of this?

I suppose it's no secret I work in healthcare.. and this posting was for something to do with our transplant network.

I skimmed it...

She said, "I'm not sure if I'm qualified."

I jumped to the bottom with the big bold word of QUALIFICATIONS. I read them to her...

"Do you have 4+ years...?"

"No."

"Do you have a degree?"

"Yes."

"Are you a self-starter?"

"Well, I am once someone tells me what to do."

I look up at her, "So that's a sort of..."

She started to say something, I talked over her, "Familiar with transplants and network management?"

Dropping whatever objection she had, "Well, I'm not sure on that one. I mean, what do they mean?"

I explain to her just what a transplant network is. She asks some more about what I think of the job.. what I think it would involve doing.

I resuming skimming the two paragraph explanation.. a ticking off points it says the job would involve. There's a whole other bullet point section about the job. I read some of those to her.

She says, "Wow, you're like super detail man. I mean, I skimmed it..."

I sort of look blankly at her. For a moment, I'm confused on if she came to tell me about this job she might be interested in... or if I'm supposed to be telling her about a job she might be interested in. I've had a single-page print out for three minutes and seem to know far more about the position than she does.

We talk a bit. She decides to reach out the the HR person to ask if she's really qualified or not. I wish her luck.

A short bit later.. she sends me an IM that HR wasn't too helpful. The lady wouldn't outright say if she was qualified or not... something about they try to make people to the qualifications as best as possible. She's clearly annoyed at not getting a straight answer.

I reply.. HR has a point. They've listed what they want.. and will try to hire based off that list. What else do you want HR to say? You've not applied.. nor have you had an interview... so what's to be said?

She replies, why are you always so logical.

I frown. What the fuck? I'm starting to get why she's not finding a job. It seems she simply wants to "get" a job. Experience, qualifications... reading (not thoroughly reading, just reading) postings seem.. to be a hassle.

I tell her, you know other folks. Ask them to tell you who works in this department... go talk to them. This way, even if you aren't qualified.. they will know your name and may give you a shot to interview. Doing nothing and not being qualified means you won't go anywhere.

She asks, "What would I talk about..?"

I frown. "Look up the program on our intranet. Read everything you can on it.. so you know what's what. Tell the person why you're interested -- what appeals to you. Use your new found knowledge to show (or at least appear to show) that you know what a transplant network is... and if you are lucky, the person will like you and be willing to take a risk.

I've no idea what she actually ended up doing. Each time she comes to me with something.. I'm finding I care less and less.

Such is life.

I used to really enjoy that she'd ask me for thoughts/advice... but now.. I dunno. It's like I'm talking to a wall.

Why did she think she was interested in a job.. when she didn't know what it was for.. or what it involved until she handed me the paper and I read it to her?

Perhaps.. if I think of it.. I'll relate a rather nice "redistributing the wealth" story I came across today...

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars