diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


A little more political rambling
October 15, 2008 - 8:12 am

The more I learn about both candidates... the more I sigh and say both are fucking terrible.

Each has something I like.. and each has something I detest. Not too long ago I said I knew who I was voting for... and I suppose I still do.

Though.. it is little wonder that only 50%-ish of people who can vote do -- I'm of the much firmer opinion that the two major parties do not and can not represent the values of "most" Americans. Without a doubt there are those who believe and support each party 100%. For everyone else, it's something less... and, in my opinion, for a great many (if not a majority) of people, it's really choosing the lesser of two evils.

Given my druthers, I'd not vote for either one. Instead, I must look at various issues and decide which one or two I care about the most and vote on that.

In effect, I'm flipping a coin. I won't like, really like, either administration and if I do happen to vote for the winner, I'll know I voted for something I don't really like.

I'm sure I've stated this before, but I'll take the Dem social liberalism and Rep fiscal conservatism & smaller government.

Now before you get all uppity about the Rep things, I do not consider, for example, Bush to be a Rep. He's not. He wears the label... but really, he's not about what I see as the core issues of the Rep party.

I debate... going through and listing things I agree with and don't agree with here. I way of typing out my thoughts and, no doubt, making it easier for me to choose.

I don't think I will. It just doesn't seem worth the effort.

I debate looking around online and trying to see if there's a third party I like better. Then I think of other nations where they have a lot more parties.. and alliances must be formed to get things done. I think I like that way better. Governing becomes, it seems, much less about Us and Them... but about compromise.

I think, though I'm not sure, that I have the link to the Lib party on this page. If that party were to lose some of the fringe, I think I'd be much more in favor it of.

I suppose.. in a nutshell, my thinking is that the government should play the smallest role possible in everyone's lives. A great many laws can be repelled... hell, the books are littered with laws we don't follow until it suits some purpose and the law is trotted out to help with some agenda.

I'll probably never cease to be amazed at how many people call here 'the land of free' and, yet, are so willing to let someone else dictate what's acceptable and what's not.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars