diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Dems and Games
August 14, 2008 - 4:56 pm

So, with all my free time.. I've been reading lots of stories -- or at least parts of lots of stories.

I can't quite decide if the Dems are really doing a 'healing' thing or lighting the fuse to implosion with whole Hillary on the nomination deal. I do know that the stories about the 300-ish emails/memos from her campaign do nothing to give me any more of a positive opinion of her. In fact, they paint her as all the more unsuited to a top decision making position.

In a way, I get this sense that Hillary and some supporters.. have some sort of entitlement thing going on. That they are owed her being the nominee for various reasons. It's really quite bizarre. But... I that is the one thing that nags me most about that party. The idea of entitlement.

Don't get me wrong, I'm fine with helping people who need help, but to institutionalize the 'help' the way so many programs do... is to give a disincentive for folks to help themselves. They begin to believe they are owed more and more...

Just sits wrong with me. In fact, it brings up some personal stories of folks I know who openly, happily, and apologetically took advantage of various state programs... their unabashed reasoning was: "Hey, they are offering it.. I'm going to milk it for as long as I can."

Anyway.

I've also been reading quite a bit about the olympics of course. I've had a significant lowering of my opinion of the powers that be in China. The whole.. digitally adding fireworks to make the opening ceremony 'better', the having the pretty little girl appear on camera while the unpretty one actaully sang... the lingering debate over the age of athletes.

It all simply.. rubs me the wrong way. An event that is supposed to celebrate the ideals of honest competition... Oh, I know.. we are long past those days.

Just one more thing that's no longer about the contest, but about the package it comes in.

Don't even get me started on how much the thing cost. You want to talk about waste and money better spent on feeding starving people... it's absurd how much was spent to 'showcase' the country.

Keep in mind, I've been to China.. and would love to go back. In fact, the sooner I can go back the better.. the country is clearly changing and I'm not so sure for the better.

What really annoys me about the olympics are all the... pointless bits of blathering they have people do. I much, much prefer to watch an event online and just get the event. None talking what-so-ever. No drivel interviews after an event, "So, what were you thinking as you were totally focused on your event and there probably wasn't a coherent conscience thought in your head?"

They know the drill.. a spew back some stock answer about this or that.

Pointless.

I did watch one lady.. who was doing some sort of tour thing. She was at the Three Gorges Dam and made some 'joke' about asking the guy how many beavers it took to make....

I felt dumberer for having heard that. If do happen to be watching the games and she comes on... you can bet, I'll go watch a commercial on some other channel.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars