diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Package and cats
August 01, 2008 - 8:22 am

So.. I've worked from home three days in a row. I still don't really like it, though it's quite nice not to have to pretend to be doing something. It's quite nice to be able to play chess... watch tv or whatever between checking emails and vmail.

It makes me all the more sure that Loca needs a sister. I'm quite tempted to nip off early today and head down to the shelter to see what's there.

I know I talk about Loca a lot, but well.. there's not much else I can say her.

I debate if she's smart or dumb. For example, I have hardwood floors. In the hallway one of the boards has a 'knot' in it. 9 times out of 10 (excluding when she's racing about) she'll stop to sniff the knot. Generally she'll eye it like it's some sort of bug or item to play with. Tap it with her paw, sniff it.. and then move on.

It's the same knot. Never moves or changes.

Or perhaps it does.. perhaps it's an alien of some sort?

Then... like most cats, she'll enjoy a good play with the roll of toilet paper. You know stand up and bat it with her paws so it rolls and all the paper piles up on the floor.

So... like most cat owners (I imagine anyway) I've taken to putting the roll on so that when she's in front of it and spinning it... the paper won't unroll. Right?

Well... I'm not sure how she does it exactly, but she's learned to make it spin the other way so the paper still unrolls.

Cat ingenuity.

You can also sure as shit bet that if I hide a bit of food in some oddly unaccessible place, she'll sniff it out. She'll stare at the situation.. pace back and forth. Do a few false starts here and there. Stare at it some more and then solve the puzzle and get the food.

Sadly, catnip doesn't seem to do much for her. I read some place that if you introduce it too soon as a kitten, it doesn't have much effect. I'll guess that's what happened with her. She likes it some, but doesn't go crazy for it.

In other news, I'm a bit pivved at my UPS person. The lazy bastard.

I was home literally all day.. and was expecting a little box. At 5:57pm the website updates to "recipient not home, signature needed." I call UPS to see if I can get the signature thing waved. The lady says it's totally up to the driver.

So... I reply, "Well, in all honesty I don't think the driver came here. I've been home all day and if leaving a package in front of a door that only four neighbors access isn't safe... then no place is 'safe'."

And yes, I'd bet pretty much anything that the driver was simply behind in the route and simply choose to mark some packages, mine included, as person not home.

The doorbell wasn't rung. No one came up the stairs. The garage is open, which is often where packages will get left. It's much easier for the driver to go around the garages and drop things off (I think)) than hit all the front entrances. It's just how the buildings are shaped.

And... I do live in a complex that isn't a thru-way to anything. Only my fellow owners/renters come anywhere near where I live...the whole "driver's discretion" thing is bullshit.

She asked me if I wanted to file a complaint. No, I don't. Provided the same shite isn't pulled today. I shouldn't say lazy bastard. No idea how many packages were delivered and all that. One day doesn't really matter to me... but twice will be quite annoying.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars