diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Patterns and cats
July 30, 2008 - 8:37 am

I think I've figured out why Loca likes the furminator dehair thing so much. It's a wicked nice back scratchier! Sure it needs a bit of a longer handle, but it's great!

Yes, I'm odd.

I also.. interviewed for "the job" this past Friday. Supposed to hear this week who the winner is. In all honesty, I'm terrified of the idea of getting the job. Just.. terrified.

I suppose there's pushing yourself and boundaries and then there's taking blind leaps into an abyss.

In other cat news... I really think I am going to get a second one. Not only that, I've been debating calling an electrician to put a new plug inside the cabinet area where I put the food... so I can move the water fountain there.

If you'll recall, since my kitchen is small, I took one of the doors off and turned a floor level cabinet into Loca's feeding area. No worried about being stepped on or anything like that.

Not many people will have an outlet inside a cabinet. I can almost see the mystified faces of the people who'll live here next -- "Wtf was this guy thinking? Why is there a power outlet INSIDE the cabinet?"

And... here's an odd story from work:

So, I think I mentioned back in the Feb time, I was sort of dating a girl from work. I'm not sure if you'd really call them dates, but let's just go with that. We went out a few times... then some semi-unrelated shite happened and things totally cooled off. Since then.. I'll say hi to her now and then and strike up a conversation. I've even asked her to see a movie a time or two and she's accepted. But.. things are clearly not headed in a romantic way.

A week or two ago... her birthday came. I found out a couple days before. I didn't really debate too much on what to get her. After all, the only reason we were still talking was that I'd reach out to her. She'd never proactively say hi to me or invite me to a movie or anything like that. I've honestly debated if she was just being "nice" and really wished I'd simply let it go.. however, I'm low on friends, so I nursed it along hoping a real friendship would develop.

Anyway... the day before her birthday, I send her a happy pre-birthday day message.

By send, I mean our IM program at work.

She laughs.... we talk a bit. It's the middle of the week, so no real plans. I ask her about seeing a birthday movie and make a suggestion or two. She says she likes the second... so I say, if you're free this weekend, let me know.

We part ways for the day.

I don't hear/talk to her the rest of the week.

Monday rolls around.. and I have a legit question to ask her.. so I do and we chat a bit. I make some sort of joke that she missed my bday (which is something we'd talked about the week before). She replies she didn't know about it (she didn't) and anyways, she's very disappointed I didn't get her anything for her's.

I'm confused by this. I say I wished you a happy bday and invited you to a movie... you didn't follow thru, so what should I have done?

Well... it seems the pre-birthday bit doesn't cut it and I should have gotten her a book or earrings -- I believe those were the two examples.

I'm.. baffled by this.

As I said before, she doesn't proactively say hello to me... and the only reason we continue to talk is that I reach out to her. And... it would be 'normal' for me to get her a 'real' gift?

Not in my world. A simple acknowledgment should suffice... and I can sort of see the point of saying something on the actual day -- but to me that wouldn't matter.

Birthdays have never been a big deal for me or in my family.

So... we go back and forth. A much longer conversation than it should have been.

We haven't talked since.. and my simple point here is... well, you _never_ talk to me, so... I'm stop. If we run into each other in two months and you say "where have you been?" I'll just say... waiting for you to say "hi. I got tired always starting the conversation."

There's of course more to story.. but well, that's the most recent snippet.

It's just a pattern I've seen many times. It makes me sad.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars