diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Back, chess and focus
July 07, 2008 - 9:57 pm

So... karma decided to kick my ass and rightfully so. I never called the lady -- though in my defense the last message she left said if you don't call me by x, I'll just consider you canceled and wait to hear from you. She made it too easy. The second thing.. is that I did zip over the holiday. I laid around.. and just wasted the time away.

Well, to be fair, I did play some online chess and I did some so work for work on Sunday, but not much.

So.. late Sunday, my back starts to bother me. A sure sign I've been lazy for far too long. You see, the thing is my hamstrings get wicked tight -- too much sitting. Couple this with years ago I hurt (I mean really pulled) something in my back... and well, now and then I just get this wicked aching backs.

I woke up today and aching back turned into tight/seized up back. As in.. I need to take stock of reality and figure just how I'm going to stand sort of trouble. I mean no matter how one moves, it hurts. I mean once you get up, you can't stand up straight.

Anyone who's truly wrecked their back gets my meaning.

So... I could also feel the aching in my hamstrings. I'm not exactly sure how it all fits together, but trust me -- it does.

Today, even a nice hot shower didn't help much. Getting dressed is quite the challange.. but the worst was the long, long walk into work. It's a good 200 yards from the garage to the building. Every step hurting helped so by the laptop bag on my shoulder.

Around noon... I felt better. By the time I got home, much better. I did lots of walking and some stretching at work. I did a bit of stretching tonight, but I think more is in order.

In other news, the story I wrote (did I post it here? I think so) took first place, so I'm nice and happy about that.

I'm also happy with what's probably the clearest sign of my brain candy doing something.. I'm playing chess much better. I mean winning games better. I'm no Bobby Fischer, but I find I'm much better at pondering a game and making moves. I'm sort of curious how this will translate into poker, but no funds for that just now...

I guess, simply put, I can focus much better.

Let's all knock on wood that I sleep through the night and wake up unsore.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars