diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Working on my days off
November 30, 2007 - 9:21 am

I think I'm either getting sick or fighting something off. The last two days I've just been exhausted -- I mean get hom from work and want to go to sleep sort of exhausted.

I go to bed early... and wake up at like 2 or 3, which is far too early to get out of bed. So I try to sleep more.. but end having the most bizarre series of dreams. Sort of lucid dreams where you're eyes close.. a hundred things happen and you look at the clock.. but only five minutes has passed. So you try to sleep again.. only to 'wake up' in another 10 minutes.

The one good thing that's happened this week is that I got to say "I'm not even supposed to be here today!" yesterday -- though I could have said it all week since I'm marked down as on vacation.

I was mildly chastised by a peer for being at work... she knew I was supposed to be off.

I'm compromising by working from home today.

I suppose another good thing is that the painter guy finally made it here.. and the water spots on my ceiling are now coated in paint. Not exactly the same shade of off-white, but oh well. Only if someone studies the popcorn ceiling will they know.

Besides, I'm giving serious thought to having the whole place painted. It has, you see, these oddish door frames -- not flat at all, but pyramid like (only 2 sides)... that's a horrible way to describe them, so never mind. Suffice it to say, I can see the frames and things being a different color -- not all white. I can't tell you what.. I just can't do design work like that in my head. Also, the closet doors are all white... and I think I can see them being their natural wood color and that would look jim dandy.

If I do it, I'll need to get someone with an 'eye' for design to tell me what would look best.

Which brings to me something that's totally me. So.. I bet on some football games. In the past couple of weeks, I've done really well. Got up to just over $1,800. Do I take this money out and pay for the new toilet I want and perhaps some of the painting? No... instead, I look at this weeks games.. and pick three, which is what I normally do. No big bets, just three 'average' bets. A day or so passes and I look at the games again decide I'm really sure another on will win.. so I bet that one. Of course, since I'm sure, I do a big bet. This leaves another 'big bet' amount in my kitty.. and why leave that just sitting there? That's right, there's got to be another game I can bet on...why not? It's money I figured I'd lose anyway and football is nearing it's end.

I suppose that's the one good thing. I don't have hobbies or things that suck up money, so I can gamble with some and not much care if I win or lose -- I don't have to worry about trying to recoup winnings, I can let my losses go.

So.. of course I find this last game and now I've everything on one game or another. I do think they are all 'good' bets, but don't let that fool you.. these were all more or less impulse bets -- which is what's so very me. If it works out, I'll double my money. I hope to just break even.

Did I mention the new role? It got one step closer yesterday.. the bossman called me, I meet with him late next week. I'm oddly.. perhaps not oddly, no not oddly at all, nervous to meet him. It's a switch for sure... I think I'll like it, but well.. who knows.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars