diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Loca likes heights
November 18, 2007 - 2:34 pm

I have no idea how high the average cat can jump, but I do know that Loca can jump at least 55 inches.

I know this.. because last night she leapt from a table to the top of a door. It took me quite by surprise. In fact, I thought.. what the fuck did I just see?

Sure it was her.. now standing a top the open door. She paced back and forth a bit. A little sniffing at the door jam. I began to wonder, will she jump down?

The table she went from has quite a bit of stuff on it (e.g. lamp and printer), so doesn't, at least to me, appear to be a good place to land. Going straight to the floor is over 72 inches.. probably closer to 80. That doesn't seem appealing to me either.

I took pictures. Very cute pictures.

I sit about two or three feet from the end of the open door. She spent some time perched on the very end... staring at me. I think she was debating if she could jump to my head.

I liked this idea least of all, so I opted to help her down.

Shortly after this rescue... she was back atop the door. I began to wonder if this was just the second time she'd done it or if she had before? If before, then, much like she gets herself into a cabinet, she can get herself out or down.

I didn't see how she got down, she did it after I left the room. But.. at least I know she can and will get down.

Of course, it makes me worry all the more when I take her out on the balcony. All the more reason she's gotta have her harness on. There's trees (she doesn't know she can climb those yet) within easy jumping distance... trees squirrels and birds like to sit in.

She'll stare at them out the window and make this little "ack" like sound. I think it means, "Why is my dinner in the tree? Fetch it."

Anyway, perhaps I'll get some wall shelves and make a little step-like system so she can get up real high... perhaps.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars