diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Adoption Nazis
July 16, 2007 - 6:37 pm

Yeah, so the how cat thing is kinda squirrely. I went by the place that has the kitty I'm liking and got this adoption form. Now, sure, I've never adopted anything before, so I'm not exactly sure what to expect...

I don't think my driver's license number should matter.. but it's there on the form. I gather from this and some of the other questions, that... they want to do a background check on me. It isn't explicitly stated that this going to be done.. but well, it's easy to infer. I'm not so sure it's necessary.

I'm also not so sure why two personal references are needed.

On one hand, I appreciate they are trying to find "good" homes for animals.. but on the other hand, wanting me to have at least one vet reference is a bit of bother... and I hated getting references for grad school... so imagine the frown on my face upon seeing I need two to get a cat.

I asked the guy at the store (who has nothing to do with the adoption process) how long this takes.. and he said like a month. There's an interview.

Yeah. An interview.

On the other hand, I'm not so sure I want to deal with folks who are willing to go to this level of bureaucracy to stop me from getting a cat.

Now, this isn't really a deterrent.. and, besides, as I got the form, there was one of these sheets with contact tabs hanging off it.. probably 20+ tabs all for contact info to get a hold of the current "owner" (some society dealie in a nearby town) and only two were left. Surely one of those 18+ people would meet the criteria.. and person like me with no vet refs to give wouldn't even warrant an interview.

There's a whole host of cats that need homes.. so my thinking is to wait until I get back from my trip.. and find one of them.

My alternate plan.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars