diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


The condo
July 15, 2007 - 1:00 pm

Item by item.. things are falling either into place or into plastic bags. Room by room.. things start to take on the appearance of permanence.

The main room is basically done. Sure the dining room table is a tad too big, but until I buy a powersaw, I can't fix that. It's not like I pull out the chairs and eat there anyway.

All it's really missing is a proper coffee table. The one that's there now.. is really an end table. At least I think so. What to do with it once I a proper coffee table... I'm not so sure.

The bedroom is basically done. Save for the lingering idea of getting an area rug. I'm not sure why, but I've largely shied away from area rugs. I like the wood floor.. and while I know rugs protect them, they also hide them. I never (well, hardly hardly ever) wear shoes inside, so I'm not worried about damaging them. I've a few runner rugs here and there.. where everyone walks. Perhaps if I ever find one I really, really like, I'll get it.

The kitchen is well.. done. Not that there was much to do there. I suppose there's this wood molding I need to glue in place, but no one knows it's not.. and the last owner didn't.. so why?

Actually, the kitchen may not be done. I'm about 90% sure I'm getting a cat and while this may sound odd (as one voter has voted).. I think I'm going to take off one door to the lower cabinets. You see, I don't have much kitchen stuff and I don't need much. I've far more space that I could ever hope to fill up... so there's this section of lower cabinets that has nothing. It's probably 2ft high by 4ft wide and 2ft deep. The doors are 2ft each. So, I take off one door.. and it's a cubbyhole area for the kitty. The perfect place for food/water. It's a private area. I'd probably put in a little bed of some sort. Not that thisw would be the cat's home, but a place that's no one is going to bother. The cat can eat/drink in peace... even though my kitchen is basically a galley kitchen. So there's really no other good place for food/water.

I'm also thinking the litter box could go in the fireplace. Yeah, I know.. the litter box should go in the main room. That's just kinda not nice. So back to the second bedroom (the den I suppose) that would go.

I took the door off a bit ago.. and, yeah, it looks kinda weird, but with the metal rack to hold the two dishes there, it makes sense. I'm not so sure I care that it looks goofy.

The den.. the probably the room that's least done. It needs a desk, a proper computer desk. This.. desk, while it works, simply doesn't fit. That's the thing about owning a place. Things should, to my way of thinking, fit. I don't much care if people think the leather ottoman thingie in the living room doesn't quite match the non-leather furniture, I think it fits. The walmart desk simple doesn't fit. Oddly, I like it's "layout" the best of any 'real' desk I've seen -- especially considering the prices charged for desks. I'd like a new chair.. and well, the list goes on for this room. The work in progress room.

Back to the cat, there is one I like. One up for adoption. The hitch and only reason I've not gone over to fill out the paperwork is that.. next week I'm out for four days on a trip. Far too long to leave a cat alone, no? I don't know.

On the other hand, the kitty here is much better for the kitty than in the little cage dealie she's got now.

Anyone want to volunteer to come over an feed the cat.. play with her a bit? Anyone?

Time flies.. I need clothes... I need milk. I always need milk. Why can't I buy it in fifty-five gallon drums?

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars