diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


A tale mistold.
2001-05-28 - 4:48 p.m.

I saw a movie today, A Knight's Tale. It was, simply put, easily one of the worst films I've ever seen. To keep with Big Word Monday, it was a wretched movie and I loathed nearly every single henious moment of it. From the opening scenes with the crowd at a jousting match singing (not just being played in the background, but the peasants actaully singing) We Will Rock You. To the closing 'joust' where the intrepeted hero sets against his nemesis without benifit of any armor. Of course he had nothing to fear. In the vast majority of his tilts his opponets didn't strike him. I had been hoping for some great jousting scenes, that was the main reason I went. Sadly, it seems the hero won so many contests because he was the only one who could hit anything. I've seen better tilts at Medieval Times restaurants. Though I do admit I'm no expert on such things, I am pretty sure that more often than not the knight's did hit the other rider. Unless you count the stretch were to "win" the love of a girl, he sits motionless and lets full speed lance after lance smash into his chest. Of course he isn't really hurt or even unseated. I think I understand that she, his girl-love, wanted him to lose to show that he would do things he wouldn't normally do for her...though why he couldn't forfeit the matches is beyond me. I guess she wanted a mate who is stupid enough to sit still while the combined forces of a charging horse, knight and lance smash dead center into his chest. Then there is this odd blacksmith girl in the film who not only fixes the armor of the dauntless hero, but has learned a way to make steel armor lighter and stronger. She has the most memorable and perhaps the most inane line in the entire movie. While trying to come up with a love letter to win his sadistic girls love with the help of his companions, he wants to start the letter with a line about her breasts. He is advised this might not be the best way to win her affections and other lines are offered. This blacksmith girl quips seconds later "Her breats arn't even that impressive." I thought it was a somewhat nice touch to put in a girl who was a blacksmith, showing that women can do such work...but to then give her that line...well it fits a horrid film. I won't even offer you my opinions on having Geoffrey Chaucer appear in the film as a naked man with gambling problems who becomes the herald of the so-called knight.

I called both the dismal and the blacksmith girls, not by accident, but on purpose.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars