diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Profile and cooking
2001-05-27 - 6:28 p.m.

Wow, I just read those update things the great Lord Dairyland has been posting. I've wondered many times what the heck all that writing was for after I logged in. I'm such a good user, I know. Then I read up and down the left column and saw all those nifty new buttons to click. I just updated my profile. I think five is a little low for favorites lists, but hey..its better than none. I also know I tend not list bands in terms of favorites, I'm alot more into songs than bands. Anywho, you can go take a peek at a little snap shot of bands and authors I like now. I added a coupla names of diaries you can link to. They are much better than mine, but then I'm male so it's a given their's is better. I'm tryin though =)

I've been cooking lately. I like to cook. I can cook some good grub to. People don't believe that, but I was a manager in foor service for a good stretch. Granted most of that wasn't cooking on a gas stove, but still...I know how to dump junk together to make something tasty. I don't cook from scratch, what's the point in that? My local super market-hell has these salmon stuffed with crabmeat fellas that just rock. Whatever the stuffing is, other than crabmeat, it good eats. Normally, I just pop that fella in the toaster oven and bake it. Today though, I fired up stove and dropped some olive oil in my wok and set about cooking kraven style.

First though a word about my wok. I love my wok. I cook nearly everything in it and I've had it for years and years.

Anyway, I oiled up the wok and dropped the rolled up salmon and stuff in. I looked over my wide array of spices and dropped in some soy sauce, it seemed to fit with fish; some citrus dill marinade sauce, again it seems to fit with fish; a garlic and herb sauce; some black pepper, I _love_ peppper..no salt; some carribean jerk seasoning; and some garlic pepper seasoning. I stirred things up nice and good and dropped a skillet lid on.

Sounds lovely eh? Well, Kraven style cooking mostly involves tossing in things that sound good, even if it's only to me. I dont use recipes. Once the salmon was nice and cooked, I turned down the flame and cut the salmon roll up into pieces and addes some frozen veggies. I dropped in a dash of water to get some steam going to help thaw/cook the veggies and dropped the lid back on. I stirred frequently, I love to stir. Then I added the final bits...some tomato basil spag sauce and some shredded cheese.

It sounds yummie to me and it tasted damn good. Now I have to clean the wok, but that's ok.

I went out last night to watch the first game of the Stanely Cup at a local sports bar. I saw and watch, drinking some rum and cokes. It was a pretty good game, though I only watched the first period. I was suprised how poor the Devils looked. The bartender chick asked me near the end of the first period, what I was watching. Now, the place has probably 50 tvs and one big screen. Normally, all sorts of things can be on the tvs, but last night 90% of the tvs were tuned to the hockey game AND at about 7:45 I asked her to put the game on the tv in front of me, the game started at 8. I told her hockey and sipped my drink, chaulking it to her just trying to be friendly with the customers..normal bar chatter. Next she asked who are you rooting for. I am a Pens fan, hey I'm from Pittsburgh orginally, and so I said neither. She looked at me like I was a freak and shrugged. I guess I didn't realize I had to root for someone. The period ended and the bar was nearly as busy as I thought it would be. I was in the mood to be around alot of poeple, so I left. I wonder if she thinks her comments to me made me leave?

I think I might go out again tonight. It will be different being out on a Sunday. I bet I wake up tommorrow fearful I'm late for work.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars