diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Saturday...
March 06, 2010 - 9:28 pm

I was sitting on a bench today.. drinking a coffee I shouldn't have ordered. A lady was on the next bench over. She said, "I guess I'll see you in twenty eleven then."

That, for whatever reason, caught my ear.

There was a pause and then she said, "It's been two months since we had dinner. Clearly you're too busy..."

At this point she stood up and started to walk away.

All I could think was... whoever was on the other end should probably be happy at the idea of not seeing her until 2011.

In a way, it's sad. I think of things to say here, but then I wonder.. who still reads here? I wonder why I let the that idea influence what I've got to say. I suppose I've nearly always been that way. Too much pondering about what it is it seems others seem to think I should do and not enough simply doing something, anything.

Such is my nature... be it learned or natural.

Do you get flashes, from time to time, of incidents from your past? Little snippets of this or that happening that come to you for no real reason. No triggering event.. just a little scene inside your mind?

I've taken to playing chess online again.

I got Kali her own little harness thing today. I don't think she much cares for it.. or being outside. I took her with me to get the mail. She pretty much stood in on place when I put her down.. tail tight to her rump. I figure that means she was overwhelmed at being outside and totally unsure what to do. She didn't much seem to like the balcony either. I suppose that's all for the best. Less worry of her escaping.

Loca.. on the other hand, is much more into snooping around.

I watched The Hurt Locker the other day. I don't get all the excitement about it. I get the point of the movie -- war is a drug and the main guy is hooked. He behaves like a druggie.. little regard for himself or anyone else. In the end, he's totally hooked and goes back.

Part of my dislike is that... I thought it was going to be more action oriented and less.. of a documentary feel.

Part of is just how things unfolded. The seemingly bizarre twists that happen.. like the bad guy sniper is quick to kill one good guy.. but then basically does nothing when the next good guy takes up the task of returning fire. Why wouldn't the bad guy just plug the next shooter? They were in the same damn spot.

The whole let's run off in alleyways was retarded. Something a platoon should do.. three guys will go and do. A platoon is what.. like 10+ people? 10+ people trained to go through into alleys. But sure, three EOD guys can do it.

Perhaps I also just don't like the idea of 'glorifying' a guy who's basically got a deathwish and who nearly gets his team killed.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars