diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Too much to hope for?
November 02, 2009 - 5:09 pm

So.. I am going to do the insurance job. You know, the job where success is basically predicated on talking to lots of people and knowing lots of people. You know, a criteria I really don't meet in any way shape or form.

My parents called last night. We talked a bit. I was quite happy with myself when I originally told them I had quit my last job.. I wasn't really sure I was going to tell them. Last night, when I said I was going to go for the insurance gig... my dad chimes in "next time you quit a job, might be best to have another one already."

I replied with a simple, "ok."

I was thinking... fuck off. I was thinking... why would you make such an unnecessary and pointless comment? There's no value to it.. other than to piss me off. I could envision mom scowling at him and chastising him after the call. She sent me an email shortly after the call.. I didn't read it yet.

I'm going to keep looking for other jobs, keep applying to things.

Part of me really does enjoy being unemployed. I simply need to find something.. productive to do with my free time. Part of me is annoyed I've wasted as much as I have.

I really, really hope I like this job. If I like it, I've no doubt I'll figure out how to be good at it.

Is finding something I enjoy doing really too much to hope for?

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars