diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Three parties?
July 05, 2009 - 10:03 am

Does what Palin is doing make sense to any of you?

I thought... she stepping down due to family -- that she was just sick and tired of jokes & the scrutiny she found herself and family under. I sort of got that. She didn't quite sign up for that when she became governor. And it's a sad truth that, to one degree or another, family is fair game when you run for an office like VP.

Still... it seems to me a good part of the scrutiny was earned. The whole troopergate thing stank -- at least what I recall of it. Then there's the possibility that her home was built in a shady way.

Anyway.

Now stories are coming up that she did it for country. I guess I'm firmly in the camp that's lost on this. Though, it does make me think she really does want to run for president in 2012. I can't imagine voting for her. She quit as governor.

Just consider that. She has another 18 months in her term (I think) and she quit.

How the fuck do you go from not even completing a term to being president?

Never mind her pisspoor performance in interviews and whatnot. She simply wasn't ready to run. She simply wasn't. There simply wasn't time to get her ready. The theory must be, by quitting now, she has years to focus on getting ready... and good for her. I guess. I simply can't imagine voting for her... not now.

In a way, I hope she creates a splinter party in the republicans -- a real splinter. A conservative, grass roots sort of party. Depending upon its ideals, I think it would pull in all sort of people... and we'd start to get the formation of a viable third party.

Simply put, I hate, really hate, our two party system. Neither one matches what I think and so it's always a lesser or two evils to vote....

I doubt the party thing will happen, but it's good to ponder, no?

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars