diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Boring drivel..
July 04, 2009 - 1:14 pm

The other week I went to an HOA meeting. I told myself long before the meeting that I should 'run' for a spot on the board -- sort of do it once, learn what it's about and let that be that. One of those moments where I'm thinking about how I need to get more involved in things and pondering what options I easily have.

At first, I didn't think I'd 'get' to volunteer as I decided if other people nominate themselves, let that be that.

Turns out.. there was one more spot than people... so I did, indeed, take it.

Now I'm on some mailing list with people complaining about teenagers using the swimming pool. What the fuck is this shit? I suppose I knew what the 'board' dealt with... but really, is this what occupies people's time? Perhaps my way of life has more benefits than I originally thought.

No luck on doing something to make my life less sedentary.

On the plus side, I am sort of gearing my mind up to do one thing I promised myself I'd do this long weekend -- that's write something. I even toyed with the idea of buying the cheapest laptop I could find so I could it on the balcony and write.

This.. however, goes against my financial mandate -- I must spend less. I make more than enough money to buy such things, but I've got too much debit from when I was younger... so that goes first. Then I can do whatever.

In that same sort of vein... I wonder how much more money I'd have if I didn't piss around with poker. It's really the one 'vice' I have.. it's not like I lose tons and tons -- not more than people send in a month dining out or funding whatever hobby-thing they have. Still, I suppose.. that needs to end.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars