diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Lesser of two evils
September 08, 2008 - 6:48 pm

Yesterday. Yesterday... I was asked if I wanted to go a county fair this coming weekend. A simple enough thing, but one I've not experienced in ages.

It puts more things into their places... more... perspective on certain things. In its own way, it makes me feel all the more foolish about some past endeavors. It also makes me feel all the better about some present ones.

I am really thinking of taking Friday off, perhaps unofficially, and getting a second cat.. should they have another white one. All shedding hair shall be the same color. I'm also thinking of trying some sort of flushable litter. I just like that idea better.

I'm back at work, if you want to call it that. I'm back to largely doing nothing. It all pays the same.

This gal at work... I think I mentioned her before.. she's 'recently' out of college as in 2 years out. She basically hates what she does... though she's in a sort of new role... though her new has, apparently, lied to her... about the training and whatnot that she'd get.

We were talking in IMs at work today. Me and the gal, not her boss. I don't know who her boss is. She said, "I'd like to ask your advice..." and then she asked (though I didn't realize it was a question she wanted me to answer) something about looking for a job outside of work.

Basically she was asking if I thought she should look for a job with another company.

What sort of fool question is this?

She wanted to know if thought she'd be happier in some other industry... doing some other totally different job.

Once realized this... I told her that was like asking if she liked the color blue or not.

How the fuck am I supposed to know? I told her to find a job she liked first.. and that paid the bills second. Be inside or outside... it doesn't matter. Keep this job until you find one you want -- the best time to job hunt is when someone is still paying you.

She said something how would she know if she'd like the new job or not? And then something about the old toe in the water saying... Indeed, you can stare at the pool all day long, but you won't know if its hot or cold till you touch it.

She said something about wanting to work for charity... so I said google nonprofit jobs. Think about where people who work/support charities might be.. and go there. You need to meet them. You need to network. You need to talk to them about what they do.

In an odd way, I think what she really wanted was someone's blessing to start looking outside the company. I don't really get that. I guess I gave her that blessing, but not in so many words.

I decided, well nearly decided, who I'm going to vote for come November. I'm not all together sure where I vote... I guess I need to find that out. I suppose there never really was much debate in the matter. Neither really fits what I want... so it's the lesser of two evils.

I was reading some comments the day on Fark. Folks were, as usual, going off about the staggeringly low approval rating for Bush. Rabid dogs attacking Bush.. crowing about the coming Obama win. Funny how these folks totally ignore that the Democratic Congress has an even lower rating that Bush... and some person pointed that the current economic slowdown started about the same time the Dems took over Congress.

Spin.. spin.. spin...

I don't know about the economic part, but the fact that Congress has done jack shit worth doing since getting into power... stupefies me. They ran on pretty clear cut items... and I recall the talk of a mandate from the people... but they didn't do anything with it.

Too bad we can't do what the Canadian PM just did and dissolve Congress. I think that'd be a mighty powerful motivator for folks to keep the promises they made. Perhaps if states could, with a certain level of voting, remove their Congress person/people and hold a quickie special election.

We don't need the long ass drawn out process that we have today. No, we do not. Not with the 24 hour news cycle and all the internet options and cable tv. It was, arguably needed back before all the technology, but not anymore.

It's little wonder things go negative like they do... you can only spout sunshine for so long.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars