diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Addendum and shopping
June 01, 2008 - 3:05 pm

First... an addendum to my last entry. My point with the insurance bit is that... we shouldn't really use insurance for things like annual checkups. It's a known event with a given cost. Insurance should be there to protect us from needing surgery, emergency room visits and unpredictable expenses.

Insurance should be there to help out with the all the unexpected things in life... not the easily predictable ones we can budget for and are, in relative terms, low cost.

For all the things in my head you shouldn't use insurance for... you can use an FSA -- which is basically tax free money... unless of course that's one of the "loopholes" that would get closed.

Second...

BAH-HAHAHAHAHAHA!

Why the laugh? Simple... I looked at my desk online (well the desk I want) at Office Depot and the price dropped $100 from last week. Fan-fucking-tastic, right? But... if you'll recall I canceled the card thing when I got the call a couple days later. So... with no account, no credit card with them.. then no interest free period.

So I went to the store to make sure it was the same price there... and it is. But I noticed that the free interest part only comes if you spend over X dollars. With the price drop, I'm below the limit... even when I add in the fancy dancy chair to go with it.

So... I end up back here and looking around online. Sort of debating what to do and I recall an article about how you can find all sorts of discounts online... so off I go to office depot's site, get the SKU's and search around.

The deals I found include:
1) 20% off furniture, not the 10% they advertise - woo!
2) if your order is over $100, you can get a free wine picket set. Do I need this? No... but it's free!
3) if your order is over $100, you can get a free duffel bag with wheels and a handle. Do I need this? Not really, I've got luggage... but it's free!
4) if your order is over $100, you can get a free tote bag -- which looks, from the picture, very much like a nice-ish purse. Do I need this? No, but it's free!
5) if your order is over $100, you can get a free overnight bag. This is rather like number 2, but no wheels and a bit bigger I think. Do I need this? No, but it's free!

I really didn't think I could add all these things (and in truth I tried to add others), but it let me.... oddly rejecting some, but not these four. I'm sure there's a logic to it and if I thought about it for a moment I'd sort it out, but I don't much care.

How much literally free stuff am I getting? $160. How much free with the 20% discount... over $200. Basically my desk and chair are now 1/2 off. Not to mention the shipping for a big ass desk is only $25 and that includes them carrying up the stairs and taking away the packing material.

BAH-HAHAHAHAHA!

Do I get no interest payments? No... but whatever. I'm getting tons of free stuff... and what I want for basically 50% off.

It's like christmas... only I know what's coming!

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars