diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Random Wednesday bits...
January 30, 2008 - 8:54 am

So McCain won FL, which gives him quite a boost. I took some presidential test and, of the folks I think might actually get nominated, he did show as my top match.

Which I find a bit odd, since I didn't think we matched up all that well. Perhaps I didn't answer the questions right..

Anyway.

I find myself in something of quandary... with two options. I can do something or not do something. I am torn between them. A sort of landmark decision to make.

Yes, I do tend to make some things more dramatic than necessary.

There's the side of me that says you should do it.. continue to follow in what you've done before.

There's the side of me that says you shouldn't do it.. focus on the axiom that to do the same thing over and over and expect different results is insane.

Though.. it's not that I mind being insane. As long as I'm not Hughes-type insane and collecting my waste in jars, I think I'm good.

What's quirky is that both choices make me sad and Magic8Ball isn't being too helpful. How am I supposed to properly exercise my free will if random advice from inanimate objects can't be utilized?

I kid.

In other news... as expected, I've been playing the Pirates game. Keep in mind, this is the first and only online MORG that I've played... and well, the graphics and physics of the game are stupid. I can shoot people through a hillside or a tree. Buildings disappear, but you can see the infrastructure... 'monsters' get stuck in walls or are there, but you can't seem to hit them.

No game is perfect I know.. but this just strikes me as amateurish.

Why do I play? Simple.. it's a game of non-stop quests. Oh sure, you can run around and do whatever you like... level up this and that skill, which you need to do to complete the quests... but the game itself is one 'problem' after another. There's never a question of what to do or where to go... it's get this or that, kill this or that... whatever it may be. Several going on at one.

Of course, whoever designed the questions needs a cockpunch for the number of times you simply have to run from one side of an island to another and back.. and then back again. Literally nothing but running from person A to give B something.. to return to A to said you gave B the item. I know they are pirates, but for christ's sake can't we pretend they have cell phones? What about smoke signals? Pigeons?

So.. I'll play out the month and that will be that.

I am more tempted to try a real game like Eve or WoW, but... I dunno... I'm not sure I want to get that sucked into a game.

In other other news... it's raining and I'm curious to see if I'm going to raising hell with the HOA. A while back, one of the windows leaked a bit. I thought it was mine to fix, but I called the HOA and they said that they would - happy day. I pay money each month and will get something back now.

I don't think anyone ever came, but then again it's winter.. and probably not the best time to fix a window. However, someone should have come and looked at it, no? No one called... they don't have keys, so unless they did it from the outside, nothing was done.

I hope it really rains... and if it leaks, I'm going to be peeved. I do pay quite a bit each month and need to adjust the bar with them.

Which brings me to... is there anything worse than expectations not met?

In general... you go some place and you're all hyped to love it... to be wowed, but in the end you find it's.. not what was advertised. You're deflated.. depressed even. A terrible state of affairs.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars