diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Friday's hot topics
October 26, 2007 - 1:42 pm

A lingering, but growing ball of fear nestles in my belly.. early next week I'll be in front of 50 strangers leading a meeting of sorts.

Perhaps between now and then I'll review the presentation... perhaps I'll just wing it.

I continue to see stories about the now outed gay headmaster.. and I continued to be baffled by how many people think this matters.

I'm solidly on side of... if it's a relevant fact to know about this imaginary person, it should have been presented (one way or another) in the stories. To reveal such information now.. is well, the exact word fails me.. so I'll go with dumb.

Further more, what's needed? Does every character now need to be introduced with sexual orientation tattooed on his or her head? These are children's stories and, as such, are largely asexual in nature.

I suppose my basic point is that once an author wraps up a story.. that's it. All the details (case in point the Soprano's) not spelled out are left to the mind of each reader. That's what makes the written story so powerful and more enthralling than any other.. each person gets to fill in all the details they want as they want.

For the author to reveal his or her inner picture of this or that.. but not included in the story itself is a great disservice to the reader.

Anyway... by far the worst of these stories was one looking for hidden clues.. and finding anagrams for vaguely homosexual phrases with his name and even more vague statements about him being a wizard with style.

Why am I typing this? Simple.. I've got nothing better to do. Paid journalists shouldn't be getting paid to dissect the subject though... there's got to be something more meaningful to discuss.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars