diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Casual or no?
September 21, 2007 - 5:39 pm

As they go through the move at work.. they are shuffling departments around. About two or three weeks ago some folks moved in and one sat in the cube across from mine - a small, thin wall all that separates us.

Now, I'm not at all used to having someone near me who can hear me talk, but I'm pretty sure she can. I mumble to myself, especially on the days when I'm less than happy.

Two days ago, I think it was, she asked if work was getting better -- as in slowing down. I was confused by this.. I am slow.

She thought I was all stressed out, which is why I know (think) she can hear my mumble.

Color me kinda embarrassed.

Anyway.. yesterday I boxed up all my stuff and today they took it away... so I worked from home today.

As per my devious little plan, I dislike my monitor. It's a piece of shit and well, I don't much care about that since I don't anything worth needing a "great" monitor.. but it blacks out randomly a couple times a month. Super annoying to have jiggle cables and then log off and log back on to get the monitor to pick up the signal and display again.

So... I 'accidentally' didn't label it.

Yes, I'm a bad person. I am ok with this.

So, today.. this gal who I've had a handful of casual conversations with sends a message over our handy dandy chat work chat program.

Now... to give a little more background, I'm of the opinion that she likes me. While it's flattering, it's confusing and I'm thinking shes just friendly.

Anyway, she intros the chat with a 'hi' and 'I'm not stalking you' -- did I mention she's young? Like early 20's? No, because that's not relevant.

Anyway.. she looked me up to tell me they didn't take my monitor and wanted to know what I wanted to do. You can picture me frowning and mumbling at the screen. In the end, I tell her it's not worth the hassle to try and get it moved.. I'll just work off my laptop as some folks do.

You can bet I'll find an admin to order me a new on by Tuesday.

Now... I'm torn, honestly torn, if she's just an overly friendly person and saw, as it's plain as day since the monitor is still there, that something of mine was left.. so she looked me up or if she used it as something of an excuse to message me.

I suppose I'll find out Monday or Tuesday.. see if I get another message from her.

In other news, while I'm wondering of Loca was actaully.. spade by the vet. She's been walking around back kinda arched and meowing. It could well be she's just bored or wants to go outside or any of dozen other things, I know... but she was doing the same thing about a week ago....

I know it hasn't been too long.. but still.. why do you just stand there? Say nice things to me.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars