diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


pennies and stalls
May 19, 2007 - 10:38 am

So... it's been said that I've not updated here in a while. True enough. And due to two things. The first is my general slowing down of posting, why? Dunno. The second is that dland was closed to new entries for like a week or two.. and that simply stopped any urge I had.

So.. here's a few random tidbits. I think I've now seven or eight pennies placed throughout the areas I normally walk. On top of cubical walls, on shelves, on the metal push bars of fire doors, on top of a fire alarm pull box...

None have been touched -- save one I put in this little handle like area on a electric room closet. That means someone went into the closet.

Why do this? I was inspired by things that simply lay on the floor for days. No one touches them or cleans it -- scraps of paper, a paper clip.. things like that.

Well, I suppose that's why.

Another somewhat interesting things is that there are about 100 people in my little section of the building that can probably hold around 1,000. I've no real idea, but it's a pretty big place.

Anyway, there's the bath room... the one closest to me. It's got three stalls and two urinals. It's got a matching at the other end of the floor -- so that's how many spots a 100 person floor gets. Well, get a lot of passing traffic to, but whatever.

My point.. is that people do funny things in the bathroom and some of it is, undoubtedly culturally based. Like this guy who washes and washes and washes and washes his hands haver peeing. He must have the most disturbingly dirty junk.

Oh sure, washing your hands is good, but not like several minutes worth -- I mean, stop and think about it. How many things did you touch before you washed your hands? Your shirt? Your pants? Your undies? Whatever nasties, especially from number 2, that you got on your hands have been transfered to your clothes.

Still yes, washing up is very good.. but this guy is just insane about it. He should really bring a change of clothes with him.

Then.. there was the guy who rushed into the bathroom, nearly knocking another guy over.. the first guy said in weird voice, "Oh god, I'm sorry." and went into a stall. Now I thought, at first, he said that caused he nearly ran the other fella over. But no.. I'll leave you to imagine what happened once the guy got himself situated in the stall.

So.. there you go -- pennies and bathrooms. Aren't you glad you brought it up?

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars