diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


The busy season
February 22, 2007 - 6:49 pm

My shoulders.. are tight. Wickedly tight.

It's a mix of stress and anxiety.. and dash of more stress.

This is the busy season -- the weeks before when I was slow and sort of confused about how things worked, well.. there's a reason why no one much cared I was slow. They knew the busy season was coming.

For whatever reason, it was decided the "team" needed a two day get together. So some forty-ish people gathered in Atlanta. Don't get me wrong. It was great to see so many people I've only interacted with via phone and email. The value of the trip is well understood.. the timing.. well.. not so much.

To make things worse, I couldn't get online. Two full days of emails piled up. The fun of the ESPN Zone a dwindling memory as I to work.

I think.. I suppose.. I think the problem is that when the busy season hits, there's no buildup. It simply _starts_.

I think.. I suppose.. I think the problem is that I'm suddenly doing things for multiple accounts that I've never done before. My training had nothing to do with what I'm doing. Nothing what so ever.

Overwhelmed is the word for what I am. Swimming, but gagging on water is a mental picture of me. I'm not so sure where the land is.. where a boat is..

I got in late last night. I was tired when I woke up. The drive to work seems to damn long. The list of things I'm just not efficient at is way too long.. and the time to learn it all.. is.. well.. gone. It's the busy season.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars