diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


One more thing off the list...
January 28, 2007 - 2:15 pm

Ahh, the joys of dland. I wanted to post earlier, but the "database could not be found."

Such is life...

Cross one more think off the list -- the inspection is done. No major issues to be worried about.. a very few cosmetic things to address, but overall, a nice sound place. Or so the inspection-man says.

This makes me feel good.

Doing it so freakin' early didn't.. but whatever. I was shocked the guy even worked on Sundays. Probably pissed off the seller a bit.. but too bad. I tried to have it setup this afternoon, but that didn't work for the seller.

What's next? A meeting with the mortgage-man on Tuesday.. to sign paperwork and whatever with him. Then the appraiser does the appraising thing.. and we see if we have to adjust any of the numbers.

Then.. well, after that.. there's the official notice that the mortgage is approved. I suppose this is the biggest of things to get done.

Then.. well, after that.. it's nothing much until closing time. Which leads me to what's causing me stress at the moment: the plan of getting my crap from A to B.

When I moved here.. I carried everything I own in and, while I don't want to, I could carry 95% of my stuff to the new place. Not fun, but I did it. The hitch is I've done some grownup shopping.

The bed, since it's a sleep number bed, I can move myself, but the dining room table I can't. The sofa I can't. The chair I can't.

Kind of sad I know.. but I may just have to get movers for this. Which would be inline with what I told myself when I moved here -- I said next time I move, I'm paying someone.

Of course, then there's the things I need for the new place. Mostly rugs.. hallway and area rugs. I need a real desk.

I'm tempted to go and buy these now (or some of them) and carry them here.. and have the movers move them. Nah, that doesn't make much sense.. if I buy now or later, it's still me carrying it up one flight of stairs. I'm just feeling anxious about finding movers and how much that might cost.

Well, that and it strikes me as silly since there's just three things I couldn't do myself.

I've gone to a site or two and put in my info, so I'll see what they have to say next week. I think I'd like for a guy from the company to come out and look at my stuff to give a real (better) estimate. Of course, he'll laugh at my relatively scant ownings.

Oh.. and for E.. I did see the question you asked a bit ago. I'm not sure on The L Word just yet. I've seen the first four episodes.. and a few things about the show I like and some I don't.

One thing that's kind of gnawing at me if I really think about the show is.. what makes the four or five main girls friends? Sure, two are a couple.. but the rest? They just, to me, don't seem to really have anything in common. Especially the tennis star girl who's scared to be outted and yet hangs out at predominantly gay coffee bar with a group of lesbians.

I'd much rather the seduction of the "straight girl" (Jenny?) was slower.. a lingering sub-plot that went through the first season. I'd have been hooked to watch it for that reason. I suppose it's still going on -- will she stay with the guy or go with the girl? It's just not quite the same to me.

I like that it brings up issues and topics I generally give much thought too.. and probably wouldn't give much thought too.

I'm sort of kind of debating switch to Blockbuster.. it's the same price and they have the "drop the movie off" deal going. I'm not sure I'd ever do it.. but for the same price why not? The problem is.. I have a TON of movies and shows set up in Netflix and there's no easy way to copy the list to BB that I know of...

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars