diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


I never learned how to dance.
November 19, 2002 - 10:17 pm

i don't understand myself.

i saw a tv show a while ago that had the perfect analogy. i wont' say the show cause that might detract from the meaning.

two guys are talking about a young couple whose love is more or less forbidden. One guy is old, one is young. In the first converstation the old man is adamant that two can not have a relationship. the young man thinks they should. events happen and the two talk of couple again.

the old man says, "once when I was young, I went to see my grandfather and he said something very odd to me, that I didn't understand at the time. He said, 'My shoes are too tight, but it doesn't matter because I've forgotten how to dance.' Today I understand what he meant." the old man changes his mind and helps the young couple run off to be together. the young man doesn't understand the word about the shoes and dancing, but he's quite happy the old man choose to help.

most of that doesn't matter. include it for no reason other than to have something else to say.

very simply i think i should have posted:

my shoes are too tight, but it doesn't matter because i never learned how to dance.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars