diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


condo
2001-04-22 - 7:32 p.m.

Either I have no readers, or they are wise...for no one as asked for my picture. Now that I think about it, the answer must be I have no readers...I mean anyone reading here isn't wise.

I found a condo today. The idea to find one came to me Thursday. I realized that for the same amount of money I pay in rent now, I could be be paying the same (if not less) on a condo. The concept boggled my mind for a day or so, but everyone assured me this was true. So, I looked a bit Saturday and then most of today. A lot of places up here are, to be blunt, shit. Nothing I'd want to own. Condos and Co-opts have this odd thing call 'common charges', well odd to me anyway. It's a fee you pay either the building or the co-opt every month, just like rent. The first place I ran into this was a co-opt place that had an ungodly fee of 600 a month. I rapidly reconsidered my options. Payin that much a month is not what I had in mind when I decided I wanted to buy a place. Thankfully the unit was not what I wanted and since I was with the realty guy, we looked at a few more. These all had nominal charges and I felt I was back in business.

Anyway, the place I like is one bedroom in new building, well 1990. It comes with all the goodies, stove, fridge, dish washer, washer/dryer...It's like 630sq, which isnt huge, but atleast 100ft bigger than I have now. It's not the nicest of neighborhoods, but I think they are tryin to develop the area. It's in Norwalk...South Norwalk actaully..about three blocks from the best clubs/bars/restaurants in the area and two blocks from the little mariana. The kitchen has this little half wall that looks out into the living room, I really like that. 9ft ceilings..I like that to.

It's scary though. This is alotta money and I am going to OWN my home. Baffling really. My monthly payments, including mortage, common fees, taxes (something I hadnt considered) will be the same as what I pay in rent now. Of course with my luck..I'll take the place and get screwed when I move out....prices will drop like rocks...but oh well, what the hell! (hey hey! any literary folks want to guess where 'oh well, what the hell' comes from?)

I did the www.lendingtree.com thing.

THAT was scary too...

I read my current lease today. It doesnt mention anything about early termination or breaking the lease. I'm gonna call my landlord (it'll be so cool not living under a 'lord') and float the idea that I might have to move soon. I'm hopin I will just lose my deposit and have to finish paying out the month. I can live with that. If she says she wants me to finish that month, I lose my deposit AND I owe another months rent...I will NOT be happy. That's alotta money..

I think I want to go back and look at it again.

Anyone want to help me move?

I'll buy beverages!

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars