diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


This and that...
November 16, 2008 - 3:25 pm

I am all the more certain... that I suffer from some sort of non-normal mental defect.

I am all the less... concerned with this defect.

Yes, I know.. it's been ages since I updated. Why? No good reason. Just lazy.

Things of note:
I opted to put the kibosh on the brain candy. Did it help? To a degree yes... but in the end, I suppose... my problem isn't some sort of mild depression it's that I've opted for a long, long time to live my life in something like semi-isolation.

I used to smile when I'd describe myself as a semi-recluse.

I might still use the term, but I don't smile anymore.

I have, to my credit, actually gone on a couple dates. A posting here.. a reply there.. a few emails.. a phone call.. and meeting for dinner.

One has gone farther than that, but well... I simply don't see it actually being long term.

Two others have me quite intrigued.

Work is going along. I'm more or less 100% in my new role. The fist mate, if you will, of five ships. Well, three ships and two rowboats. The mountain of information and things I don't know... still staggers me. As does the wide variety of ways in which my peers handle things.

Some are all about the details.. access to every system.

I ask other about this system or that and they look at me blankly, "I've heard of it, but why would you want to access it?" These folks leverage the rest of the team to a high degree. The first set.. are more do-it-themselves sorts.

I think my style will be a mix of both.. right now I'd like to try and look things up, but really rely on the team for the proper answer. As I learn what I like and don't like to do.. I'd simply adjust what I keep and what I delegate.

My mom called me the other day to talk. Not all that unusual. But.. well, this was a different sort of talk. It seems when she went to get her annual checkup.. her blood pressure was high.

No big deal.

They sent her for a stress test.. so I'm guess it was more than 'a bit' high.

The test said, as if tests really talk, that sometime in the past three years she had a small/mild heart attack. Baffling news to her since she's had no symptoms and is in otherwise good health.

So... sometime in this upcoming week she'll go to the proper heart doc and they'll decide what, if anything to do.

Color me sad with some highlights of helpless.

I am well and prepared for the next dose of bad news for my father. He's... well, I've talked about him before. But mom has always been healthy.

Such is life.. and the joys of growing old I suppose.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars