diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


less happy doing it these days
May 31, 2008 - 8:08 am

In my own typical fashion.. I realized something last night that I've realized before. Perhaps the difference this time is that I've better acknowledged the realization... I'm ignoring it less -- at least for now.

In somewhat related news, my single biggest frustration... my single largest annoyance... at work is when people say they will do x or y and then don't. A simple way to explain what I do is manage 'matrix partners' towards a deadline. I don't make much new material.. I don't answer much on my own. I collect disparate bits of information and return them to the requester. Sort of. Perhaps that I don't have a better way to describe what I do betrays that I'm not very good it at.

Anyway.. oddly, this has been coming to a head more and more at work. I say oddly because we are far less busy. I didn't have the problems I have now when I was juggling multiple projects. Perhaps the folks are tired... and care less at the end of this selling season. Perhaps I'm tired and care less and aren't setting things up as well. Perhaps the deadlines I'm getting are just shorter as clients are in a rush to make choices.

Herding the cats... drains me. It makes me tired. I want to once, just once, go through a project and get back what I asked for without having to redo things. Without having to shake my head and fix grammar... or send it back and re-ask for what's in the damn form(s) I have to fill out.

I've known for a while that this job really isn't for me. It requires someone who likes to micro-manage. I can do that. I will do that... but not all the time. It sucks the life out of me. Especially since I've no authority over anyone I get info from. To them... I'm just another Sales pain in the ass who's making their day hellish. I don't want to do that.. I try not to do that. But if I ask for M I damn well need to get X back... not an N because it's close and it was found first.

Of course, the more time I have to spend on what other people do, the less I have to spend on what I'm really supposed to be doing.

Never mind all that. I'm just grumpy today.

What else is new?

I used to wonder what people meant by they want to stay close to home/friends when choosing a school -- they wanted access to a support system. I never got that. I never understood.

I do now. I don't have one. In my own way, I'll pretend I do from time to time.. but that's pretending. Am I really done pretending? Of course not, it's what I do. I'm just... less happy doing it these days.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars