diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Cats and votes
May 24, 2008 - 8:36 am

I need to come to some sort of a meeting of the minds with Loca. You see, most days... it's quite fine that I get up at 6:15, but it does not need to be everyday.

Should I attempt to sleep late.. even just slouch in bed for a long time, she starts to mew and chatter and howl and generally make herself an annoyance. Her new annoying thing is to bring in one of the nerf balls and drop it so it sort of falls behind the mattress and try to 'dig' it back out. This would be occurring about two feet from my head.

The instant I get up, she's back to more or less ignoring me. But she seems to care, truly care, that I'm not laying in bed.

Perhaps she's worried I'm dead... or just getting me back if I snore really loud. I don't know.

However... I do know that we went for a "walk" yesterday to get the mail. A round trip of some 100ft I'll guess and it took over an hour. She's not much for walking -- at least not with a purpose.

The real reason I mention the excursion was that... a little old lady with a cocker spaniel came along. The dog was used to cats, so no barking or anything like that. For a moment the stared at each other as she and I talked a very little bit.

Slowly Loca approached... no doubt somewhat emboldened by the relatively small size of the spaniel. I had a firm grip on the lead, ready to rudely yank her back to me should I see claws come out... but no claws.

Instead... for just an instant... they touched noses.

The old lady decided it was time to finish her walk and off she tugged the spaniel.

I was watching some news show the other day and it was said that folks are starting to blather that Hillary is going to lose since she's a woman.. that the country is totally sexist... blah blah blah.

Since it's one "never won" vs another "never one" I guess the country must be either sexist or racist. And that's my real point: one must lose.

To assume and then fully assert that the reason for the loss is no fault of the loser (i.e. people just didn't like positions, actions, of whatever) is well.... just as sexist.

Perhaps that's not the right word.

To assume that I wouldn't vote for a woman because she's a woman is... the closest word I can think of right now is that the assumer is a bigot.

To me, it's the perfect coffin nail to why I don't like her. Clinton herself has said it's the reason (or at least a major one) she's losing. She can't seem to fathom that people don't like old-school politicians. People don't like typical republican campaigns (it wouldn't surprise me at all to hear some point down the road that carl rove was secretly giving pointers to her campaign... it's the very image of something the RNC would run.)

Obama is far from perfect, but I'll buy into his change idea enough. Will he really be different? Probably not... but it strikes me that he's going to try to be. Whether the system will let him... time will tell.

In any event, if Dems really do take this notion of sexism to heart and decide not to vote for a man... as some have said they will (or won't) do... John might just win. And I'd be laughing my arse off.

Do I mean to say that sexism isn't a factor? No.

Do I mean to say that racism isn't a factor? No.

As much as we'd all like to believe we have neither... each and every one of us has a bit of both. I think it's in the book Blink by Gladwell how people are unconsciously racist. I'd hazard the same is true for sexist.

None of that is my point... and totally off the track I'd had in my head.

What I'm really just trying to say... is that the more Hillary talks about sexism... the more she's splitting the party. If the party splits too much, John's the winner and everyone will go batshit crazy.

Hillary will truly be blathering she'd have won -- when it's really her fault the wheels came off. The notion of wrapping this up and 'healing' the party is a very real thing. People need to see Hillary support Obama.. and perhaps even stump for him in the next election.

Should she be the VP? I don't care.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars