diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Tech and Election
January 21, 2008 - 8:22 am

Did I mention that I'm on a new technology quest?

You see.. Netflix will now let me download 'unlimited' movies -- I say that in quotes since there's probably a limit of some sort.

I don't want to watch full movies on my monitor, but want to stream them to my TV. Now, I don't have a wireless network... and this needs to be wireless due to the distance. So I want a box that will send the stream and a box that will receive it.. and plug into my TV. In my head, it's a box that designed to do just this.. however... I realize what I may need is something to 'create' a wireless network and then a receiver for the near the TV.

In other news, I read some articles the other day that women were turning on Oprah since she recommended Obama and not Clinton. If true, this just fills me with all sorts of annoyed. Are people really voting not for they think is best, but based on gender? What could be more sexist? What could be more wrong?

To be honest, the Clinton that's really annoying me isn't Hillary, but Bill. I get he's doing whatever he can to get her elected (he owes her more than that), but still... he should back off.

Though.. if she does win, his role as First Man (?) will be quite interesting and really revamp that role. I've no doubt it'd set a new standard for what the spouse does -- and that also concerns me.

You see, I've no doubt he'd be very active in a much broader role than is typical. His trips abroad would be far more political.. and that sort of bothers me. He's not an elected official, but since he's a past president, he's going to carry a lot of weight/influence.

I think he'd be fine at it.. I don't have any problems with Bill, consider for a moment a future candidate who has a spouse you really don't like... say Laura Bush runs for office and wins. Georgie is now First Spouse.. how comfie do you feel with him doing anything?

In other words, I think Bill would turn the 'role' into a sort of quasi-VP role. I'm not so sure I like that. Like I said, I think he'd be fine at it... but once made, it's the role spouses would then aspire to.

Do we need to start knowing lots and lots about the candidate's family?

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars