diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Lights are no very good
October 07, 2007 - 9:35 am

I noticed something last night.. that's struck me as sort of funny, but also quite interesting.

I went into the bedroom, turned on the light and Loca was sitting there staring up at me. I didn't see what I was looking for so I turned off the light and in the dimness I could see she was still staring at me, at my hand. So, for no reason at all, I flicked the light up and down a few times.. and then I notices she was more crouched ready to jump and her tail was giving this little twitch -- a sure sign she's about to pounce on something.

A thought came to me... lately, when leaving/entering the kitchen and she's on the counter.. she'll 'attack' my hand when I turn on/off the lights...

I flick the bedroom light a few more times and sure enough.. she jumped at my hand -- the highest jump I've seen her make. The switch is a good 6ish inches higher than a door handle. No world record, but the highest I've seen her do.

She doesn't like the lights going on and off... just sort of fascinates me.

Thinking about, and no news to pet owners I'm sure, but we must seem like gods. We make water and light and food.. appear and disappear at our will. Do things they can't even begin to fathom. We speak to them in riddles.

Perhaps god, if there is a good, is no more a god than we are... just far more 'advanced' (perhaps complex is better?) being.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars