diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


my parents
May 25, 2003 - 1:28 pm

let's take a small detour from my usual blathering and look at todays events. specifically my interactions with my parents.

as you may know, this fall i'm planning on going to grad school some 9 hours southeast of where i live now. to do this, i'll be quitting my job and moving..

currently i'm living in an apartment and i'll be living in the dorms, at least for the first semester, there.

my parents have decided to help me as much as they can in this endeavor. there's the possibility of financial assistance, but today they drove up two hours to take a blazer load of my stuff down to their house.

i'm very grateful for any and all help they give.

however, i'm left.. with the impression that, at least in regards to picking up my stuff, they don't want to.

as i said, they drove 2 hours to get here. we went and had lunch, came back, loaded up the blazer and off they went. they got here at 11:30 and it's now 1:30. so, they were here for two hours..and are now driving back two hours - four hours driving in total.

that's a lot of driving.

as soon as the blazer was loaded, my dad went and sat in the drivers seat. now that sounds a lot worse, i think, than it is. he's not in the best of health and grows tired quick.

what's left me wondering about things is that my mom calls to him, 'you ready to go now?' he replies 'yep' and she says 'well let me get my purse..'

he made no comment or any effort to say anything to me as he went and sat. perhaps he's merely being insensitive to how things look.. but i'm left wondering if his actions are some kind of passive/agressive disapproval.

my mom gave me a look and shrugged her shoulders, meaning 'i don't know why he wants to go now..' so i'm thinking she was open to the idea of hanging out for a bit..

the last time they came up to visit they did the same thing. they came up, we talked a bit, went out to eat and they left. again it was abou 2 hours visiting and 4 hours driving.

i suppose as long as they are helping i shouldn't much care if they approve or not.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars