diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Philly and ideas..
2001-04-1 - 1:52 p.m.

First things first..

I got back a bit ago from Philly and my little family gathering. Overall I had a good time. Seeing me niece was definitly the hightlight. She likes to kick and wave her arms randomly, which I suppose is what kids her age are best at. I do believe the first thing she to me was (I'm quoting as best I can here):

"Boowayt dee Baww"

I know she needs to work alittle on enuciating, but I think that it's clear she was saying:

"Who the hell are you? Are you going to feed me?"

Another of her favorite things to do is to grab a blanket and pull it over her face and then go into a full body spasm trying to get it off. She doesn't cry or scream when she does this, it seems to be something she does simply for fun. She's also fairly adpet at blowing bubbles with her own spittle.

Unfortunitly her mother is breast feeding and won't let her have any "real" food. So, I was unable to conduct my planned tests to prove that even at the tender age of three months a person has the instinctive loathing of most vegetables. I fear by the time I will be able to conduct my experiment she will have been conditioned by her mother to like such things.

The second part of this family gathering was the celebration of my dad's birthday which offically occurs in a few weeks. For his birthday dinner he said he wanted to go to a "shogun" restuarant, which in Pittsburgh terms is a place where the cook the food in front of you, hiabatch I believe it's called. So being in Philly and only two blocks from Chinatown, we found a place called the Shogun and off we went. However, this was not a hibatchi place, but a 'normal' restuarant. I got to try sushi for the first time, which wasn't bad. I'm not to sure what I ordered and had for dinner though. I know my father wasn't to impressed with the rolls of rice stuffed with chicken and veggies that he got. He has pretty typical tastes in food and only likes hiatchi cause they cook the food in front of you and do tricks with the knives. Eating stuffed rice cake/rings is NOT his idea of a meal. But, it was good.

Hrm...I think I'm on part three now. I meant to write this LONG time ago, but never did. Since I had this idea I've lost the paper that gave it to me, but never fear! I have found a new source of inspration. The original idea came from a local 'libera/progressive' newspaper which had some interesting articles on things women do to thier bodies. For my current inspiration, I purhcased the recent copy of Cosmo.

Stop laughing.

Now, I read the covers to all those magizines in the supermarket checkout line and always laugh. They say things like "Turn Him On Like Crazy, Things That Will Electrify Every Inch Of His Bod" and "Sexy Breasts, A Daring Trick Only A Cosmo Chick Would Do". What makes me laugh about these things is the double standard. For years, decades, even centuries...People have made jokes about men who are concerned about the size of certain parts of our bodies, yet at the checkout counter there are RACKS of magizines dedicaded to nothing more than improving, enlarging or highlighting parts of the womans body. The original article from the local newspaper was about plastic surgery for vaginal lips. Yes thats right. The author of the article was a women who is also pretty darn open that she's a lesbian and she was shocked by this.

Well, I'm gettin ahead of myself. I need to read my Cosmo mag and collect my thoughts on the orginal article. Hopefully soon I've have things together.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars