diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Friday morning musings
August 22, 2008 - 8:30 am

I continue to struggle with what to do at work. I did more or less commit to the idea... saying I was 'interested'. I won't know more until the 1st week of September.

I'm taking next week off. On Friday.. I fly to Kansas for my grandmother's 90th bday. I will be seeing many, many people I've not seen... in about 15 years. In fact... this would be the first time I'd sit at the 'grown-up table' at such an event.

I shudder to think how many cousins and nieces and what not I'll meet.

I enjoy watching olympics online. Just the game.. no commentators. Just.. uninterrupted game with the crowd cheering. I wish it was an option for more events.

In other.. other news. I've actually... been on a date or two. I wasn't quite sure if the first one would be a date, was simply going to a see a movie we both wanted to see.

The second... was meeting after her work for wings. She gets off late sometimes, so we wouldn't be meeting until like 10. She called... and sounded a bit tried. I offered to reschedule and that it was totally up to her.

What easier way to sort out if she'd really like to see me or if the offer of wings was just... well, a passing fancy of an idea.

We met for wings.

Then.. last night I opted for the random call to say "hi" and we ended up talking on the phone for over an hour. A few odd moments of silence, sure... but well, that's still a mighty long time. I'm pretty good at coming up with a random question after one of those silence-pauses.

I'm not at all sure.. what to do next though. I've not really dated in ages. I don't count Aprilly... that was just.. I don't know what that was. We never really went anywhere when we were 'dating'... which is odd.

Anyway.

I've got... something like 10 days off. The first six, home here.. with zero planned. The next three in Kansas and then one more at home. I work one day.. and then fly to Atlanta for three days for the team meeting... and my lingering, festering position discussion.

You know the worst part of it? I can totally see it happening.. and, on the last day, bossman making the announcement to the group. That's the part I dread. Being in a room with 30+ people and everyone looking at me thinking, "He's going to do what? Really?"

No, that's not the worst part... the worst part will be all the post announcement conversations.

Why the switch?

Who's going to take your old spot?

Are you sure you want to do this?

Piss off. I'm never sure about any job I've taken. I'm very much spur of the moment in that regard. In reality the main driver for this... is I do believe when your boss calls and asks 'Would you like to do this?' you tend to say yes. And... well, if I can't do this new job... there's just no way I could do the job I say I want.

So... it's sort of mini-test run.

This would also mark the first time I've switched jobs and stayed with the same company.

As far as moving... yes the whole dating thing has factored into my head. But not to a huge degree. Much more important is that since I've only lived here 1.5 years, I'd lose money selling.. and the housing downturn makes that a lot worse.

I don't need to move... so I probably won't. I wonder if I can wiggle that I'm not moving (saving that outlay) to an extra bump in pay? Probably not...

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars