diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Merely strangers
March 03, 2007 - 10:01 am

So.. like a week or two ago, I send an email to my brother and parents with the final date of my closing and move.

Perhaps I was out of line.. perhaps my expectations were off, but I figured I'd get some sort of "congratulations" email/call from both.

Sure enough.. my mom sends an email back along those lines that I'm signing my life way...

My brother.. send nothing.

I think about it.. and I recall I'd sent him an email a bit before that and he hadn't replied. It was a silly pointless email.. so I didn't much care he didn't reply at the time. Now I start to wonder if I'm using an address he doesn't check anymore -- perhaps one over run with spam.

So.. I decide to call. As I'm hitting send, it occurs to me.. I don't think I've spoken with him in nearly a year.

We talk.. he got the email.. just didn't reply. We hang up.

It bothers me. Both that I didn't expect him not to reply and that he didn't.

I should know better.

That seems to be the story of my life -- I should know better. I should have my expectations in line on things. I should know, that more often than not, we are merely strangers who share some genetic code.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars