diaryland
email
old n moldy
new n fresh
profile
aol im
dland notes

like original stories?
like to give feedback?
click here!

bored go here!

rings:
agnostic
altoids
ayn-rand
1976
complex
connecticut
corsets
curiosity
deviant
disillusiond
donnie darko
douglas adams
fark
farscape
gemini
individual
intj
introvert
ishmael
kinky-sex
libertarian
ourladypeace
pittsburgh
rum-lovers
virginia
writer

"Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny." -- unknown

Insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results - Albert Einstein


Easily Amused
February 11, 2007 - 9:47 am

So.. I've taken to watching, so far, mostly hbo and showtimes shows with my netflix. You know.. the Sopranos, the L Word, Six Feet Under.. and the like. Movies, real movies, will start coming in soon. I've a got a little mix thing going on.

Anyway. These shows.. tend to have parts in them that are designed to make you think, to cause some degree of introspection - or at least that's something they can cause in me.

Now and then.. these shows even have powerful moments.

Like the L Word show where the guy catches his gf getting eaten out (why don't we have a better term? Blow job and hummer.. are all much nicer, but whatever).

I was waiting for it to happen, it had to happen. Sure enough, the guy forgets something and hurries home. He sees what's happening through a window.. and walks to the door. He watches through the door, but only for a moment. I thought he might turn and leave. He didn't. He opens the door. I wait for him to say something. In my head.. I ask, what would I say?

His girl sounds as though she's getting near a climax. Her head back.. forward it comes, she sees him.

What an odd moment that must be for her. To have the pleasure from the other girl between her legs.. and the horror of seeing her bf with her eyes.

The other girl realizes something is 'wrong' and turns to look. She leaves, easing past the bf -- who's still said nothing.

He picks up a story she'd written. He gives it an odd glance and tosses it at her.

I'm waiting for it.. the cliche of "How could you?" or "Get out!"

She's covered her up chest, as if he hasn't seen that a hundred times before. A defensive gesture I'm sure. I start to wonder if she'll say "It's not what you think."

Finally he turns and leaves. Save for her early sounds of pleasure, not a single word was spoken.

I rather like.. I rather like that not a word was spoken. It's one of the few times in a show that I've really felt the tension of the situation. I could feel as though I were looking in through another window.. that I was a neighbor who spied the happening by chance.

Still.. in these shows there are subplots I don't care for. They bore me. They make me wonder if I'd watch the show if I couldn't skip through them.

Rather like Lost. There are some characters I want to know about. Some things I want to understand. Other (no pun intended) things I don't.

Lost has too many characters, to many people have been introduced and dropped off. Too many new people have been brought in. Yes, I get with the basic line of the plot this had to happen.. and yes, I'm not involved in show.. and yes, it's not _mine_ in any way shape or form, but bugger off. I can express what I like and don't like about it. After all, Lost was created to get people to watch and I teeter on the edge of not really wanting to keep watching.

Anyway. The shows make an attempt to go deep, to be a drama that captivates. Interestingly, perhaps only to me, of the shows.. the L Word has far and way the most nudity and sex. In some ways, that's to be expected. Still it lingers in my head as an interesting footnote to the show.

I lost the original thread of where I was going with this. Sometimes these shows get me to think about this or that. Sometimes.. I'm amazed at how "off" I am on things. How I just don't "get" certain things. How I can say something or ask something.. and looking back I can say "Why the fuck did you phrase it that way?" It's not what I said was wrong.. it's just how things come out.

It's like the uber-logical person on a serial crime drama who can't relate like normal people do. They say/do/question things that "normal" people don't. That's not to say I'm super-logical or or wicked smart. That's just to say their brain doesn't quite process info like "normal" people and, from time to time, neither does mine.

Such a case happened yesterday. A simple question that came out all wrong. I didn't realize it at first, only later.. I could call to apologize, to clarify, but that would just make more fuss. So what did I do? Off goes an email... with a pretty little picture of a bird who'd landed on an icicle. Aside from the fact that it's a little bird holding on to an icicle, I don't recall ever seeing a bird hold on to something that's vertical.

Anyway. Anyway. Anyway.

A little Nirvana pops into my head, "I wish I was like you, easily amused"

Don't take that the wrong way.

(this way) / (that way)

A place like Alaska - April 07, 2012
Dowton Abbey - February 01, 2011
Dowton Abbey - January 31, 2011
Something of an update - January 16, 2011
What to do... - January 01, 2011

Site Meter


cogito ergo doleo
my current wishlist item, yes i am waiting for godot.

we live in the land of the free, but are we brave enough to keep it that way?
you have a choice

my addiction: pokerstars